Hamburger
OPEN
close
 Back


Distance from hotel: 23.7 km

Alexanderplatz

and surrounding area



A 368m high TV Tower with a rotating restaurant and look out platform at 200m which is reachable in 40 seconds by the lift. The restaurant revolves twice an hour.
 

Entrance:

Adults: 7,50 €
Children under 16 yrs: 3,50 €
Children under 3 yrs: Free
 

Getting to Alexanderplatz:

S-Bahn: S5, S7, S75, S9
U-Bahn: U2, U5, U8
Bus: 100, 148, 200
 

The Nikolai Quarter

In the Nikolai Quarter lies Berlins origin, from the beginning of the 13th century. Here is part of the double town Cölln-Berlin. The predominant part of the quarter was rebulit in the 1980's from original examples in celebration of Berlins 750th birthday. Around here there are many small shops, guest houses and wine taverns recreating the Old Berlin atmosphere.

The Nikolaikirche (Nikolai Church) is the oldest preserved building in Berlin with the construction having started in 1230. After being heavily damaged during WWII it was finally rebuilt fully in 1987. Today it houses a museum with Sacral textiles, sculptures and interesting burial sites. Concerts with church music and lectures often take place here.

One of the most beautiful and eye catching buildings in the Nikolai Quarter is the Ephraim palace, a rococo building, which was built by Frederick the Great for his court jewller Ephram in the 18th century. Today the building is used for exhibitions.
 

Rotes Rathaus (Red Town Hall)

Between Alexanderplatz and the Nikolai Quarter lies the Berlin Town Hall, a red bricked building (1870) hence the name "Red Town Hall". It is the seat of the governing mayor of Berlin. In the building there are a series of terracotta plates telling the story of Berlin.
 

Die Hackeschen Höfe (The Hackeschen Courts) 

You can reach here by foot in a few minutes from Alexanderplatz. These courts comprise a whole compley of buildings, which are all connected via 8 courtyards.

The buildings here are well maintained and demonstrate the use of these buildings during the industrialisation phase at the end of the 19th century. In this area there are many cafes, bars, small shops and boutiques, a cinema and event rooms in which variety shows and caberets are held.

From Hackescher Markt you can easily reach the many gastronomic choices around Friedrichstraße via Oranienburger Straße or make a trip to the museum island.

For further information visit www.berlin.citysam.de

Hamburger
ÖFFNEN
close


Entfernung vom Hotel: 23,7 km

Alexanderplatz

und Umgebung

 

Der Fernsehturm....

368 m hoher Aussichtsturm mit Drehrestaurant und Aussichtsplattform auf 200 m, in 40 Sekunden mit dem Aufzug erreichbar. Das Restaurant dreht sich in der Stunde 2 x um die eigene Achse.

 

Eintritt:

Erwachsene: 8,50 €
Kinder unter 16 Jahren: 4,00 €
Kinder unter 3 Jahren: frei

 

Anfahrt Alexanderplatz:

S-Bahn: S5, S7, S75, S9
U-Bahn: U2, U5, U8
Bus: 100, 148, 200

 

Das Nikolaiviertel

Im Nikolaiviertel hatte Berlin Anfang des 13. Jahrhunderts seinen Ursprung. Hier stand ein Teil der Doppelstadt Cölln – Berlin. Der überwiegende Teil des Viertels wurde in den 80er-Jahren anlässlich der 750-Jahr-Feier der Stadt anhand der alten Vorbilder nachgebaut. Heute spiegeln zahlreiche kleine Läden, Gaststätten und Weinstuben das Altberliner Milieu wider.

Die Nikolaikirche ist das älteste erhaltene Bauwerk in Berlin. Mit dem Bau wurde bereits 1230 begonnen. Nachdem sie im 2. Weltkrieg bis auf die Außenmauern zerstört war, baute man sie 1987 wieder auf. Heute beherbergt sie ein Museum, welches sakrale Textilien, Plastiken und sehenswerte Grabstätten zeigt. Zudem finden hier Konzerte mit Kirchenmusik und Vorträge statt.

Eines der schönsten und auffälligsten Häuser im Nikolaiviertel ist das Ephraimpalais, ein Rokokobau, der von Friedrich dem Großen für seinen Hofjuwelier Ephraim im 18. Jahrhundert erbaut wurde. Heute wird das Gebäude für Ausstellungen genutzt.
 


Rotes Rathaus

Zwischen dem Alexanderplatz und dem Nikolaiviertel liegt das Berliner Rathaus, ein roter Backsteinbau (1870), deshalb Rotes Rathaus genannt. Dies ist der Sitz des Regierenden Bürgermeisters von Berlin. Am Gebäude befinden sich Terrakottatafeln mit Bildern der Stadtgeschichte Berlins.
 


Die Hackeschen Höfe

lassen sich zu Fuß in wenigen Minuten vom Alexanderplatz aus erreichen. Bei diesen Höfen handelt es sich um einen Komplex von Gebäuden, die durch acht Hinterhöfe untereinander verbunden sind.

Gut erhalten blieb hier die typische Bau- und Nutzungsweise der Industrialisierungsphase zum Ende des 19. Jahrhunderts. Heute findet man hier ein Anzahl von Cafés, Bars, kleinen Geschäften und Boutiquen, ein Kino und Veranstaltungsräume, in denen Varieté und Kabarett geboten wird.

Vom Hackeschen Markt aus erreicht man über die Oranienburger Straße mit zahlreichen gastronomischen Betrieben die Friedrichstraße oder macht einen Abstecher zur Museumsinsel.

Weitere Information über www.berlin.citysam.de